Hurts, Jefferson, Mahomes are among the MVP finalists

Hurts, Jefferson, Mahomes are among the MVP finalists

Jalen Hurts, Justin Jefferson, and Patrick Mahomes are finalists for the 2022 Associated Press NFL MVP and Player of the Year awards.

Buffalo Bills quarterback Josh Allen and Cincinnati Bengals Joe Burrow were also finalists for Most Valuable Player.

Hurts had 3,701 passing yards, 760 rushing yards and 35 combined touchdowns while leading the Philadelphia Eagles to a 14-3 regular season record and first seed in the NFC. The Eagles are in the NFC Championship Game for the second time in six seasons.

Jefferson led the NFL with 128 catches and 1,809 yards in his third season with the Minnesota Vikings. He was one of two unanimous AP All-Pro choices along with Kansas City Chiefs tight end Travis Kelce.

The 2018 NFL Player of the Year, Mahomes helped Kansas City go 14-3 to earn the top seed in the AFC. The Chiefs are in the AFC title game for the fifth consecutive season and will host the Bengals on Sunday. Mahomes led the NFL with 5,250 passing yards and 41 touchdowns. He received 49 out of 50 AP First Team All-Pro votes.

San Francisco 49ers snob Nick Bosa and Dallas Cowboys running back Chris Jones and Micah Parsons are finalists for Defensive Player of the Year. Bosa led the NFL with 18 sacks, Jones had 15, and Parsons had 14.

Brian Dabul, Doug Pederson, and Kyle Shanahan are finalists for Coach of the Year. Daboll led the New York Giants to a 9-7-1 record in his first season as coach. Pederson led the Jacksonville Jaguars to a 9-8 record and an AFC South title in his first year with the team. Shanahan led the 49ers to a 13-4 mark, going 5-0 up the series with rookie quarterback Brock Purdy.

Purdy and Seattle Seahawks running back Kenneth Walker III and New York Jets wide receiver Garrett Wilson are finalists for Player of the Year honors.

Purdy, the last player selected in the 2022 draft, started the season as the third-string quarterback and stepped in after Trey Lance and Jimmy Garoppolo were injured. He led San Francisco to a 5-0 record to finish the regular season, two playoff victories and an appearance in the NFC Championship Game in Philadelphia.

Walker led all rookies with 1,050 yards and 9 touchdowns. Wilson led all rookies with 83 catches and 1,103 yards.

Jets “Suss” Gardner, Detroit Lions defensemen, Aidan Hutchinson, Seahawks and Tariq Wolin are finalists for Defensive Rookie of the Year.

Giants linebacker Saquon Barkley, 49ers quarterback Christian McCaffrey and Seahawks running back Geno Smith are all finalists for Player of the Year honors.

Lions offensive coordinator Ben Johnson, 49ers defensive coordinator DeMeco Ryans and Eagles offensive coordinator Shane Steichen were finalists for Assistant Coach of the Year.

NFL Honors winners will be announced on February 9th. A national panel of 50 members of the media who regularly cover the league completed voting before the playoffs began.

This was the first year of the Associated Press’ new voting system. Voters selected the top five for Most Valuable Player and the top three for all other awards. For MVP, first place was worth 10 points. Second to fifth place votes were worth 5, 3, 2 and 1 points.

For all other prizes, first place votes equal 5 points, second 3, and third 1.

#Hurts #Jefferson #Mahomes #among #MVP #finalists

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *